pardon my break for photography….

this last summer the call of my new camera and flickr was stronger than my blog.  i was taking a picture a day, photoshopping until the wee hours and posting and commenting like a fiend!  something had to give and we all know its not ever going to be the knitting…… i do love photography and i do love the flickr community but the holidays  began to approach and that too fell by the wayside.  i’d love to say that i would stay up all night to get all my hobbies in each day but, you know, i really do love my sleep.   now that the holidays are over and i have more time maybe i can balance things a bit better….

this picture of street vendor ties was taken during a FANTASTIC trip to new jersey to visit lovely friends that we had not seen in 11 years.  the last time we had been to ny henry was 1, riley was 6 and ruby was 9!  now families have children in college and high school and henry is a middle schooler–yikes!  anyway, it was a fabulous time and i got tons of wonderful pictures and i’ll be processing them and posting them as i can (along with knitting content and pics of course!)

when we went into manhattan i had to visit purl soho, of course, and i picked up some blue sky alpacas yarn that i’m dying to turn into, what else?  wristwarmers!  i also picked up some cascade 128 which is surprisingly lovely to work with!  i made a chunky cabled hat that turned out amazingly soft and beautiful.  alas, i have no pictures of it….

i will be posting some pictures of my new knitting addiction:  the earflap hat with cascade 220.

whew!  that’s a lot to say when i haven’t said much in awhile.  more will come.  and thank you for your kind words and encouragement.  thank you thank you.

its good to be back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to pardon my break for photography….

  1. Willow says:

    I’ll be interested to see the earflap hat in Cascade 220. When I was designing one of my final projects for TKGA’s Level 3 Master Hand Knitting program, I used Cascade 220 to make a Fair Isle ear flap hat!

    Oh yeah, welcome back!

  2. Ava says:

    Photography . . . seems to be my sister’s pull as of late (you can always tell who posts based upon the photo – mine are crap). Glad you enjoyed Purl! Did you make it to M&J in Midtown? For some reason, I find it overwhelmingly refreshing and am amazed that one can pack $30 worth of something into a Ziploc snack sized bag 🙂

  3. annmarie says:

    good to see you back! and what a great shot of the ties! it made me think of going into the ribbon stores in midtown manhattan and swooning from all the choices. 🙂

  4. snoopydog says:

    Great knitting! Love the idea of having more arms to do more knitting. Made me smile. Happy days! Ros

  5. First time visiting your blog. I am very impressed by your knitting as I am also an avid knitter. Have been since I was very young growing up on the west coast of Norway where knitting was a must in my times.
    I will enjoy stopping by your blog from time to time.

Leave a Reply

