its been awhile…

_DSC0620 2

That’s kind of an understatement.  2 months to be exact.  Now that its summer I’m hoping for more time for blogging, more time for knitting, and more time for pictures.  So far, I’ve only made more time for margaritas…Work, birthdays and family reunions have made the enjoyment of margaritas a necessity!  Now its time to relax…

I’ve begun knitting on some Christmas presents:  wristwarmers (always!), hats….I even tried a tea cosy out of Cashmerino in a cute fair isle pattern with a design all my own.  To be fair I’ll even show you the disaster that is my tea cosy:

teacosy

Its too soft a yarn for this and it has no shape or redeeming qualities.  I suppose it will work to keep my tea warm but that’s about it.

I’ve also strayed into the land of stuffed animal knitting:

modestmouse

Let me just say that I don’t know what came over me.  It’s not like me to knit stuffed animals.  I did it under the guise of possibly knitting these as baby gifts for some baby some time in the future.  I don’t know.  Maybe I lost my mind for a little bit…but she’s cute and her mate is almost finished.  And then I’ll be done.  I think.  I used the pattern for Mel’s Mouse from the book Knit Two Together.  It’s a simple pattern, really.  I used Baby Cashmerino and size 3 needles instead of what they reccommend (worsted) and so my mouse is petite.  Just the way I wanted her.  I knit her sweater without a pattern out of some Kid Seta I had hanging around.  Pearls and pearl buttons are courtesy of some old costume jewelry from my grandmother.

It’s time to face the music and get ready for work.  Enough internet fun for one day….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to its been awhile…

  1. willow says:

    Welcome back. I’m glad to know that I am not the only person who knits stuffed animals and makes tea cosy disasters.

  2. Jeanne says:

    Welcome back! The bear is adorable! I actually like the tea cozy – very pretty!

  3. annmarie says:

    lovely to see you back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

