once a month? really?

march6

I can’t believe it’s been a month since the last time I’ve posted.  Oh well, I guess I’m doing the best I can with what I’ve got…

Nan, Kelli and I went on our annual knitting extravaganza  over Valentines Day weekend:  the Madrona Fiber Arts Retreat in Tacoma.  Always a fun and inspiring time!  This time, Kelli and I took Janine Bajus’ class on choosing colors for Fair Isle Knitting.  “Amazing” is an understatement!

march11

This is the table of yarn that we had to choose colors from.  I was overwhelmed and excited all at once!  It was a wonderful class and though I don’t have the technique down as well as I’d like, I came away feeling a lot stronger about colors and design.  Swatching is big….

march4

These are some swatches that I’ve made just to play with color.  Sometimes I make a regular flat swatch and sometimes I swatch a coffee cup holder–it helps to see the colors and patterns a little more clearly and its also something useful.

Here is the hat that I started in class with colors picked from a photo…

march5

I can see lots of color mistakes but I’m okay with the turnout.  I have so much fun working with all the colors!

My latest addictions, both of which are made with Silk Garden, my all-time favorite yarn:

march2

Quant fromKnitty.  I LOVE making this headband!  What a perfect showcase for this yarn!

march3

Mitred Mittens by Elizabeth Zimmerman.  Another fabulous pattern for that fabulous yarn.

I’m hating the ‘spring forward’ thing–it always kicks my ass every year….better go and knit before its too late and bed beckons….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to once a month? really?

  1. willow says:

    I love the fair isle hat! I’m not big on knitting entrelac probably because I worked so so hard on my TKGA entrelac swatch and I hated it then.

    I’m going to the TKGA Knit and Crochet Show in Portland in May. I think there’s a class on fair isle–maybe I should sign up for it.

  2. Jeanne says:

    I love all of the projects – the entralac is amazing, and the fair isle hat is beautiful…

Leave a Reply

