Cement I’m back from the Madrona retreat and even though Doug really kept everything together, I’m still waging a war with laundry.  I finally sat down Sunday and was able to process some pictures for Ravelry and for my blog–I’m making progress!

The retreat was a ton of fun!  Kelli, Nan and I got along so well and enjoyed each others company that we’re planning on going again next year.  It was so inspirational to see and be surrounded by so many (540!) knitting, fiber enthusiasts!  Among the highlights were seeing and feeling a real Bohus sweater in the flesh, talking to Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and finding that she really is as she presents herself in her books, and, of course, the vendor area with all it’s lovely yarn and fiber and Blue Moon Fiber Arts Yarn.  It was lovely to see Tina again–she’s always so friendly and warm and her yarn is to die for….

Horselamp

We girls saw lots of beautiful stuff, took naps, ate RoundTable Pizza (one of my favorites that is not available where I live) knit, had a few drinks but, thankfully, restrained ourselves from climbing onto the ridiculous horse lamp in the lobby.  A wonderful time was had by all.  Who knew cupcakes were such a big thing in the Pacific NW?  This cute little bike was parked in front of Hello, Cupcake!  A charming cupcake bakery with yummy treats that I did not pass by without trying (hence the 3 times a week at the gym before work now….)Cupcakebike_3 Cupcakehut1

In the meantime, I’ve finished at least two more fake isle’s (I think this has become a full-on sickness now and I’m waiting for someone to try an intervention….)and some wristwarmers for myself out of Blue Moon sock yarn doubled.  Nan, Kelli and I have decided we’re all going to attempt a lace shawl and I’ve found my pattern:  Scheherazade.  I couldn’t wait so I cast on last night.  I’m actually finding it more enjoyable then I thought I would.  We’ll see if I actually finish it but at least it’s keeping me away from casting on another fake isle…..Carolefakeisle_2

Vicfakeisle

Vicfakeislekochoran The weather is starting to warm up so maybe it will all be good.  My daffodils in the field are starting to look like they might bloom in the next week or so–I guess that means I better get working in my garden!  I’m dying to pick up my camera and take some pictures but there is always so much other stuff to do and when I do find the time its either pouring rain or the sun is too bright or the wind to strong…

It’s almost time to get chicks again.  Our older hens have really slowed down their production so its time to get some new layers.  I’m not looking forward to the chicks in the bathroom  phase of the process but we’ll get through it.  It will be interesting now that there are 4 cats roaming around….

Well, I’m off to whip up an apron for one of Riley’s friends for her birthday party tonight….wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Ava says:

    Glad you enjoyed the trip! Sounds like you had a good time with lots and lots of fiber to boot. And the Fake Isles continue to revel in their own beauty. I’ll have to try this one.

  2. b says:

    Sounds like a great trip! I’m glad you were able to get away and enjoy yourself. As always, thinking of you and wishing you and your family my best!

Leave a Reply

