So maybe I haven’t been such a good blogger but I’ve been a busy knitter and have much to show for it…unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of the socks I made for my mom for christmas out of the new Noro Kureyon sock yarn so you’ll see those later.

Here is Uncle Scott’s Fake Isle hat with earflaps:

Scotthat

Made with Kureyon and Ultra Alpaca.  I love this combo and Uncle Scott says he will try this hat out on the slopes of Tahoe soon.

Next up, Bird in Hand Mittens by Kate Gilbert:

Birdinhand

Cara over at January One inspired me to find this pattern and try a pair.  It’s a great knit!  I’m using size 1 needles with Cascade 220 Superwash and they are turning out warm and thick and lovely.  The pattern is truly lovely and inspired with the little bird on the thumb detail!

I also need socks badly so I’ve start a quick pair for me:

Blluemoonsock

(Pardon the ugly pix! I had to take them at work!)  blue Moon Sock yarn with an easy heel inspired by Cosmic Pluto.  I like how quick this heel is and seeing that I wear through my socks at the bottom of the sock I don’t need the reinforced heel flap and would rather get done quicker by not doing it.

I also finished socks for Dad and wristwarmers for Patti (these too were given away before pictures could be taken).  I still owe Uncle Bill a Fake Isle and I need to make some more for other late christmas gifts so my stash of Kureyon is being used well.

In other news, we went down to CA to visit my sister and had a great time with her family for New Years.  We hit the Japanese Tea Garden, the Hang Ah Tea Room (used to be the best Dim Sum in SF; now not so good….), knitting stores and did lots of knitting by the fire.  It was a lovely trip and would have been perfect if the friggin furnace at home hadn’t decided to conk out again while Ruby was home alone with the dogs….she woke up one morning (or should I say afternoon?) and said the house was 55 degrees and what should she do about it?????  Its always something…..

As for my spinning wheel–I am loving it!  It makes spinning so effortless!  I’m still learning the feeling of this wheel as it is very different than my old one but my singles are getting more and more even and skinny and it’s so comfortable to spin!  I’ll take pictures of yarn soon.

Well, I feel pretty caught up with all the haps around here.  Hopefully I won’t stay away so long this time….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Ava says:

    I am so chicken to try a pair of mittens – any mittens! Something about the thumb and the gusset and I just get so flustered!

    Thanks for the link for the heel. I’ll definitely add that for the next pair.

  2. willow says:

    I love those mittens! Wow. I’d love to try a pair.
    I’ll look up that sock heel. Heels are not my favorite part of sock knitting…

  3. Kim says:

    nice blog, you sure have been busy.

  4. annmarie says:

    I just had to get me a copy of that mitten pattern! Thanks for the link. 🙂 And enjoy that lovely new spinning wheel – I’m hoping that 2008 will be the year I get my own spinning wheel out of looooong hibernation…

  5. Susan says:

    Ohh I love the Bird in Hand mitts. Right now I’m really working on learning how to make a plain mitten..with a real thumb.

  6. Sarah says:

    Love those hats – I think I need to get on that bandwagon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

