Linzmitts

More knitted gifts….I’m knitting like a crazy woman!

Today was my dad’s 70th birthday.  We celebrated by going to a dinner/concert (sans kids) by a favorite local band Sunday night, and having dinner and cake at Carol and Ed’s tonight with the grandkids. 

Pops_and_the_kids

We all had fun but the best part of the night…..was being there to witness my dad have a cow when the girls started dancing while he had a RECORD PLAYING!!!!!  He started screaming "No, no, no!  You can’t jump with records!"  and went running for his precious turntable!  The kids just looked at him like he was from another planet and had no idea what his problem was!  I’ve been telling them stories for years about the famed turntable with the expensive needle and how we were supposed to clean each record before we played it (we never did) and how we were supposed to put away all records in their jackets (not leave them out to gather dust like we did) and how loud we played the music when carol and ed weren’t home…well, the kids got a taste of what my childhood was like!  Ah, some moments are perfect in their sweetness…

Just thought I’d share.  On to more knitting….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. b says:

    Happy Birthday to Ed. What a great pic! And that story about the record player is hilarious. I can so see him doing that! 🙂

  2. Pam says:

    Sweet photo!!! Funny about the record player. Things you don’t think about..

  3. Vicki says:

    Looks like a happy birthday celebration!!

    My youngest and her friends have been buying record players/turntables and albums… though I don’t think they’ve tried dancing. They’re so funny — also on their “hot lists” are manual typewriters. Next thing you know, they’ll want rotary phones!!

  4. Ava says:

    Happy birthday to your dad! I completely forgot about not jumping when the records played . . . thanks for the memory! I still call CDs albums and probably always will.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Happy birthday to your dad! I haven’t thought about turntables in a long time – and I remember my father telling me the same thing!

  6. Susan says:

    What a great time! I guess all our parents told us the same thing and it sounds like none of us paid attention if they weren’t around. That is such a sweet photo of him and the grandchildren. I hope you’ve framed it. Oh and happy belated birthday, Ed!

Leave a Reply

