Xmasornie

I’m back but probably not for long.  The usual xmas craziness has hit me full force and it won’t be letting up anytime soon so posting to my blog will be spotty at best….

I feel like I have my own 12 days of Christmas going:

5 days ago our front gate stopped working.

4 days ago our cat who taught herself how to use the dog door brought a dead mouse into the house.

3 days ago our cat brought in a live mouse.

2 days ago a tire blew out on my car as I was driving home from work (doing 60 mph).

Yesterday our furnace decided our house didn’t need heat even though the high for the day was only going to be 39 degrees.

I’m hoping today is just a partridge in a pear tree……

That said, I’ve been knitting every waking moment that I’m not taking care of crises or feeling guilty about the things I’m not doing (baking cookies, decorating the house, washing clothes….).

Here are pictures of all the Fake Isle hats I’ve completed:

Carhat_3Doughenhats

Edhat

This is an extremely addictive pattern (who am I kidding?  We all know that I tend to fall in love with one pattern and then make it over and over and over again….) and I can’t wait to make some more.  Xmas knitting dictates that I make some mittens and wristwarmers and school beanies so I’ll save the pleasure of the fake isle for the long car ride down to CA next month.

Hope everyone is enjoying a lovely holiday season!

I shall return!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. laurie says:

    the hats a great!!! love the colors. i can’t do any fair isle, fake or real so they look great to me.
    you’re only 1/2 way through your days of xmas so i’m hoping it look up for you.

  2. Lea says:

    Oh dear!!! My kitties have pleased me with such treats too… I mean ” really , you shouldn’t have!!!”…the hats… way awesome… just another plug for me wanting to learn how to knit..( I’m a crocheter)…

  3. Pam says:

    Love the hats, and the little ornament picture! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas (and a very safe drive!)

  4. Ava says:

    Hopefully the beauty of the hats makes up for the shittiness of the holidays so far. They are gorgeous (colorwork scares me, by the way). I finally got out of my holiday funk when both girls went to the nurse and said they didn’t feel well so I told my students that a sub could take them and went home to be a mom again. Put up the tree, bought ingredients for cookies, 50% better mood. Stay away from the ten lords a leaping . . . they might kick you in the butt!

  5. willow says:

    That’s why we called our Angel ‘the cat in the box’. She came fully trained never to give such gifts. Actually she is just a fluffy ornament who sits around and acts like a princess.

    Merry Christmas!

  6. Susan says:

    Oh my goodness! I love, love love the colors in that second hat! Perhaps now that kitty has done her gift giving early you’ll be safe. It’s all been ice here but I’ve been lucky and just had intermittent power outages lasting just hours. Plunk goes the headlight and out comes the kniting. Only problem is that my dog is terrified of that light.

  7. Rebecca says:

    Can’t seem to get my comment to post so apologies if my persistence means you suddenly get three all at once!

    I know what you mean about the crazy time of year, I am in panic/stick head in sand (or snow rather!) mode.

    The hats are gorgeous, you are always so good with colour.

  8. b says:

    What a great pattern. I love the colors in the last one but they are all gorgeous. Okay, it sounds like you are having more than a busy holiday season. Madness. Sheer madness. I hope that frickin partridge in a pear tree has shown up by now! 🙂

    Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

