It’s been a while since I’ve had the urge to post.  Or even look at anyone else’s blog.  Life kinda hit me square in the face these last two weeks and I’m doing all I can to keep it together.  As I write this I’m looking at a layer of dust that is about 1/4 inch thick on my computer and desk and listening to the dryer buzz at me to let me know that folding clothes is now possible.  I’m sure this is no different than anyone else’s crazy life.  Last night I came home, had a small martini (mostly for the ginny olives), & sat on my bed to watch the news before making dinner.  I woke up 45 minutes later wrapped around Angus (he fell asleep too!) .  Nothing like napping with a large labrador….

Handspunsherpa_2

This is the earflap hat I made from my Navajo plied handspun. Navajo plying is so addictive!

I am still a knitting fool and have extended my craze for all things fair isle to starting Norah Gaughan’s Lite Lopi Pullover from IK Fall 2003.  I’m using Kathmandu Aran Tweed (what else…) and its bottom up so it’s a really easy knit right now.  The tricky part will come in when I steek it to create a cardigan at the end.  My knitting guru, Judy, says it can be done so I’ll be attempting that at the end.  Of course, I may try it on and decide I like it as a pullover and stick with that.  Either way I’m excited to get to the yoke.  It is kinda smart to do a sweater this way because the exciting part is at the end and it’s like dangling a carrot before a horse.  One has to complete the body and both sleeves before you get to the fun….

Hmmm, in other news, I am less one kid in my house.  Ruby is now officially a college student and living in the dorms and seems to be doing great.  The house is a little quieter with only two kids to bicker.  All the better for me to take martini induced dog naps….

I went to the Oregon Flock and Fiber Fair last weekend with friends and fellow yarn store employees Nan and Kelli.  We had a nice, relaxing time oooohing and aaaahing over lovely fiber and Blue Moon Fiber Arts yarn.  I stayed within my budget (mostly) and have some lovely fiber to dye and create yarn with.  I’m taking a dying workshop this weekend so hopefully I’ll get some good info on how to create what I want to spin.

And speaking of spinning, Miss Riley has put down the spindle and now taken over my wheel and is diving into my stash to create her own yarn too!  It’s nice to be able to share my passion with one of my kids.  Ruby is even attempting to knit a hat and is doing very well. 

Well, I’m off to the insistent dryer and maybe I’ll goof around with some of that peacock colored roving and see if I can make it usable.

And I can’t resist:  How about them Cal Golden Bears!!!! ????

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. pam says:

    Glad Ruby is enjoying college and dorm life!

    Love the little hat. Can’t wait to see more photos. I’m just lazy mostly with no one by the dogs and I at home during the day and late into the evening. I seem to get less rather than more done!

  2. willow says:

    Good to have you back.
    My sil lives in Oregon City/Canby, went to OFFF for the first time and called me from 20 feet into the building, screaming, “You’ve got to come next year!” I guess it was great.
    Ummm, about the steeking…are you out of your mind??? It totally freaks me out to even think about cutting into my knitting! Good luck to you. Let me know if you live through it.

  3. Ava says:

    That hat is adorable . . . loving job. I hear you on life hitting you in the face. Mine has virtually bitch-slapped me daily since the 4th. Thank god for beer and dirty martinis. If only the olives were soaked, I’d just eat them out of the jars.

    I often wonder if I will miss the bickering when the girls are in college and the house is quite. Who am I kidding?

  4. Mmm… martini.. I think that is what is missing from my life. Or maybe the nap..either way, glad you could unwind. The hat and the wristwarmers are lovely!

Leave a Reply

