can you say crabby?

Hollyhockmidnite

Yeah, I don’t know what it is but I’ve been bitten by the crabbypants bug and I’m just in a foul mood.  No reason, just am.  I’ve been working a lot this week (isn’t that the way it always is when you return from vacation time?) and I’m not sleeping well (thanks to that damn Jemima Duck who feels that 4 am is a good time to raise a ruckus in the duck yard) and I’m just generally feeling pissed.  I’m sure you all know what I’m talking about…

Yesterday was my day off and I spent the day cleaning (jeez, does it never end????) and making loaves of bread and a batch of strawberry  jam.  This year the peaches and the marionberries seem to ripening slowly and we are going through the strawberry jam at an alarming rate.  We won’t have any left for winter if I don’t make some more.  Needless to say, my back was killing me by the end of the day so after dinner I sat down to watch the extremely uneventful Giants/Dodgers game (I don’t really dig Barry Bonds but I can’t stop watching….) (Later:  and now he has done it and hit that damn homerun and I can stop watching!) and finished Ed’s Fathers Day Socks (Regia Jacquard)

Edsox

and made some headway on my Silver Thaw Shawl.  You all haven’t heard about said shawl because I’ve a nonexistent blogger of late.  I got the Silver Thaw when I went down to Eugene to take Ruby to her orientation at the U of O and I had to check out a yarn store…..of course I did….

You may wonder, why did I drive Miss Ruby down to Eugene when she owns her own car?

Rubcar

Yes, that is Ruby’s car after she hit a deer last week.  She’s okay, the car….not so much.  She hit the deer with her bumper so the air bags deployed and when they deployed they smashed the windshield.  Of course we needed another expense before we send her off to college in the fall…..

Back to Silver Thaw; I’m using Clara Parkes’ pattern to make a simple shawl and then I’ll add a ruffle around the edges.  This stuff is beautiful and is lovely to work with.  I can’t wait until it’s finished…

Silverthaw

All else is well enough around the homefront and knitting progress is being made.  Maybe next time I post I’ll have put away my crabby pants and have some happy ones on……

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to can you say crabby?

  1. pam says:

    Lovely photos, well, the car looks bad but you know what I mean. Just finished moving my own this weekend into her first apartment. Exhausting. She’s happy though. Hope Ruby enjoys her year! And you too!

  2. willow says:

    Sending you happy thoughts to cure your crabbies! So glad Ruby is ok.

  3. b says:

    I’m sorry to hear you have the crabbies. It is tough…you have to just wait them out it seems. And with all that you always have going on, a reprive isn’t really much of an option, is it?

    My heart jumped when I saw this photo of Ruby’s car! How scary to hit a deer! I’m glad to hear that she is okay!! Was she shaken up about it?

  4. Tracy says:

    You are alive! I was beginning to wonder if your peacock from last posting had eaten you ;o) So glad you…and Ruby, too, are ok…Sorry you’re in the crabby state…Hope you’ll feel like happier pants soon ((HUGS))

  5. Ruby says:

    Hi mom. My car looks sick. Also, quite unfortunate that i seem to have aquired the crabby pants somehow and am unable to remove them. love you!

Leave a Reply

