I hope everyone had a nice holiday and stayed cool.  We’ve got some pretty high temps here and it just makes me want to stay inside and knit or be in my cottage (with the ceiling fan it stays very cool) and putter around while listening to my iPod.  I’m listening to Crocodile On The Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters.  I took the Yarn Harlot’s advice and thought I’d give it a listen.  So far its pretty engaging and as I prefer narrators with a British accent, its easy on the ears.

I’m currently straying from knitting projects that I should finish in favor of knitting projects that are fun to knit and a novelty.  I talked to my Aunt a few days ago and she mentioned that she was soon to be a great-grandmother.  I immediately thought:  Baby Sweater!!!!!  I’ve been wanting to make the adorable Kimono from Mason-Dixon Knitting and I thought it would look lovely in some Cotton Manos in the color of strawberry ice cream.  So here’s my chance and now I’m halfway through and having a blast knitting it!  It just knits up so fast and is so satisfying.

I’ve also had a thing with pincushions of late.  I don’t know what it is about them but I’m hooked.  Everyone I know who has a birthday soon will be getting one.  They look like little presents:

Pincushion2

Here are more pincushions with an adorable vintage birdhouse and velvet covered bird that my mom gave me for my birthday yesterday–it makes a perfect backdrop for my pictures.

Pincushion1

I took my inspiration from Heather Bailey and an article in this magazine:Pincushion3

Well, I think I’m going to go knit some more and maybe we’ll have ice cream for dinner tonight–it’s so dang hot out!  (Of course, it’s cool in the house with the AC on but I’ll use any excuse for ice cream for dinner!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

