Amember Me?

Colette07again

Anyone remember that Eddie Murphy skit on SNL way back when he played "Buhwheat"?  I still laugh uncontrollably when I watch that…

So….I’m back from dead or almost dead and boy, lots of shit has happened.  Not anything big but just lots. of. shit.  To start off, Rubylicious graduated from HS and turned 18 and pierced her navel all within 5 days of each other.  That should be enough to make any mom nuts.  Proud, scared and horrified (the navel thing–kinda gross…I don’t generally have a problem with bellybutton piercings but I just keep remembering how she used to play with her bellybutton when she’d suck her thumb and fall asleep as a baby.  Is that too much information????) it seems there is so much to get used to so quickly!  The in-laws came and all was great but I just get so stressed out before visits and I work myself up to having a stiff neck because of all the worrying and obsessive remembering of gifts and things to do…you know the drill.  I’m much better now and all gifts have been given and everything that needed to be done has been done.  I’m falling asleep early every night and sleeping hard until I wake up at the lovely hour of 7:30.  I guess I’m making up for the month of craziness.  (I dreamt last night that I brought home 6 yellow lab puppies and I started to feel that panicked "what did I do?" feeling when I woke up…Whaddya think that means?)  I’m allowing myself to knit whatever I want to and I’ve even moved my spinning wheel into the family room and have been spinning here and there.  Mentally I think I’ve survived.  I knew I would but for awhile there I was seriously looking like a basket case.  It’s all good now.

Another really cool occurrence was the invite to Ravelry…I could spend literally DAYS clicking away at people’s projects!  It is a totally brilliant idea and a very worthwhile site.  Now I just have  to find the time to upload stuff to be able to use the site to it’s full potential…

And on to knitting:  I am still the queen of string bags and have made 9 and am working on #10 now.  I did end up giving the kids teachers string bags with produce from the farmer’s market and they seemed to love them.  I also made bags for all three of my kids and filled them with a beach/pool towel, sunscreen, sunglasses, hot tamales, jollyranchers and a book and gave the bags 0’goodies to them on the last day of school.  They all wanted different colors so:  Ruby wanted a "Rasta" bag (yellow, red, green, black), Riley wanted pink and brown, and Henry wanted Cal colors (blue and gold).  All done out of Sugar and Cream kitchen cotton at $1.99 a ball.  Can’t beat that! 

Stringbagkids

Oh!  and if you haven’t gotten the book The Dangerous Book for Boys  for your son, go get it!  Henry loves it and carries it around with him everywhere and even his grandfathers, uncle and dad where thumbing through it and giggling….

So, string bags aside, I’ve been knitting on a pair of socks for Ed for Father’s Day, a pair of tofutsie socks for me (using 00 needles on the heel and bottom of the foot so I won’t wear it out), and I started Knitting Pure & Simple’s Neck Down Shaped Cardigan #241 out of some Rowan Calmer that I had stashed.    Ruby wanted a hat like the kind that Kirsten Dunst and Maggie Gyllenhaal wear–the kind you can tuck your hair into.  I looked all over for a pattern and couldn’t find one so I whipped one up myself and made it out of some Silky Wool I had in the stash.  I think it turned out pretty well and she’s happy with it.  We call it Ruby’s Boho Hat.

Hatpix

(modeled by Riley)

Now Riley wants one….If there is one constant in my life (aside from the fact that I am always crazy in love with my man) it is the knitting.  It has transitioned from a hobby to an obsession to being just part of me and who I am.

Another constant these days is my iPod.  I’m flying through books from Audible.  Right now I’m really enjoying The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs.  I also listened to Austenland  by Shannon Hale.  I thought it to be a bit cutsie and somewhat shallow and predicable but I was, nonetheless, intrigued and it held my attention to the end.  I also finished In The Woods by Tana French and enjoyed that too.  Sometimes all I want to do is put listen to a book on my iPod and knit.  And nap.  Now that I’m not stressed out and running around trying to make everything happen for everyone in my family, I will grab my knitting and crawl onto my bed with my iPod and knit until I fall asleep for a little nap.  I love hearing the birds around our house right now and the one I hear the most is the House Wren.  I can hear it singing and it echoes in the trees and seriously just lulls me to sleep.  They are dang cute, too, and one has had babies in the birdhouse that I have down in my garden and I can hear them peeping when I’m out cutting flowers for bouquets.

Well, I think I’m all caught up now.  Maybe it’s naptime?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amember Me?

  1. pam says:

    Ahh the summer after high school graduation. I remember it the same way, but without the piercing. Filled with angst.

    As you know I love the string bags, all are delightful. Things will settle down. My daughter is 19 and will be starting her jr year in college.. its just more and more new things to get used to, but they do seem to settle down after a while. Have the ‘discussions’ on curfews and that kind of thing kicked in?

    Anyway, good luck. xo

  2. India says:

    Woa – I was tired out just reading that!
    My son was desperate to get his ear pierced, asked me all the time. So, when he was about 10,I said ok but it would have to be at the start of the summer holiday so that it would be healed by the start of the new term(he would need to remove it for gym). You know, he never asked me again after that….
    India

  3. laurie says:

    love the bags and love, love the hat! don’t suppose you remember and want to post the pattern? too cute! boy you have been busy…sometimes it is the knitting that saves us!!

  4. Ava says:

    Glad to see that you are well! Piercing the naval isn’t so bad; my daughters and I did it in November (mine is long gone . . . long story). Friday Night Knitting Club was pretty good; I wish she would have printed the patterns along with the drinks. The bags are lovely, as always, and the hat looks divine. What’s your Ravelry sign on, by the way? Lola and I would love to add you to the “friends” section.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Sounds like you’ve been busy! Love the bags and the hat is just too cute! Hope things slow down a bit for you this summer…

  6. lola says:

    What’s the pattern for the string bag? I’ve made the Market bag, but those look different.

    Ditto of the Dangerous Book for Boys! It’s going to be my new shower gift for anyone having a boy!

  7. Vicki says:

    Oh my goodness, yes… 40 winks, at least!

    Ali dabbled with piercings, and Katie used to wear toe rings on her ear (it looked like she had a ton of piercings) and she has one very large hole in a lobe — I’m sure there’s a name for it — but for the most part, my girls seem to prefer ink.

    Yah with the proud, scared, horrified…

  8. b says:

    Wow…such a crazy month! I love all your new creations (unsurprisingly) and still don’t know how you do it all. I am, as always, humbled. I miss you so much.

  9. I too would like to know where to find the pattern for the string bags.

    Thanks for posting the hat pattern, too!

  10. Tracy says:

    Hello! Glad to see you back! But, what a time it’s been for you & yours! A calm, langourous summer is not likely on your list-LOL! But such wonderful creations you’ve been working on in the meantime–thanks for the patterns! Happy Days! :o)

Leave a Reply

