Today is my youngest niece Lily’s birthday.  This sweet little girl has just about every toy you can imagine so when birthday time rolls around, its time for Auntie Vicki to get creative….

A few months ago she picked up some salt and pepper shakers and named them The Duke and The Duchess.  So, I thought that I should start her on a vintage "Duke and Duchess" collection and of course a small cabinet to store them in.

Lilpres2

And I found this pattern and thought I’d make her some slippers too.  However, I threw them into my front loader at 190 degrees as I headed to bed and left the washer to do its magic.  My washer is way more magical than I predicted and I’ve spent all morning jamming my fists into those slippers to try and make them big enough for her!  I used wooden spoons, spatulas and even TV remotes to try and stretch them out.  We’ll see if it works…if not, I guess I’ll be making her another pair….

Lilpres

Doug just got home with styrofoam eggs for Riley and I to needle felt (loving that!  who knew how fun stabbing wool with an extremely sharp needle could be!!!!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. laurie says:

    love your slippers, and SO simple. i’ve just made myself a pair using Manos yarn and the pattern from Felted Knits by Bev Galeskas. they are so cute and great to have.
    BTW: you inspired me to make a beret. i made Le Slouch, very nice.

  2. What a lucky neice! The cabinet and the slippers both are beautiful. I hope they stretch out for you.

  3. pam says:

    Both so lovely. The cabinet and the slippers, although the slippers, wow, love them. Love them..

  4. b says:

    What a lovely and thoughtful gift! That little cabinet is so adorable. Where did you get it? I hope you and the family are doing well. I miss you and will send you an email soon.

  5. willow says:

    I love those slippers! Did you felt them before or after you put the decorations on?

  6. Rebecca says:

    Oh how beautiful, what a lovely gift, I would have loved to receive something like that when I was little, in fact I would love that gift now! Hope the slippers stretch for you.

  7. Susan says:

    Oh I do hope the slippers fit. They are just so adorable. Hmmm I think I need something like them. I love the little cabinet..you just find the greatest things!

  8. Susan says:

    oh i forgot~ what a great idea of using styrofoam eggs to felt on. Hope you don’t mind if I copy your idea.

Leave a Reply

