To use the words of Anne of Green Gables:  Today "I am in the depths of despair…"

My dog has chewed up my two very favorite pairs of shoes.  The only shoes that are comfortable enough for me to wear to work.  The second pair he chewed up, my Dansko clogs, were left out for only 15 minutes.  The story is quite tragic, really.  I was on my way home from dropping Henry off at school (both dogs in the car with me), and in one of the fields that I pass on my way home was a dead sheep.  The dead sheep wasn’t remarkable–what was remarkable was the absolutely huge bald eagle that was standing next to it.  I raced home as fast as I could, let the dogs into the house, grabbed my camera and tripod and raced back to the field, all the while telling myself that the bird would be gone in the 15 minutes it took me to accomplish all of this.  However, when I returned to the field, the bald eagle was still there and another one was circling to land!  I couldn’t believe that the photography gods where smiling on me!  As I grabbed my camera and threw it on my tripod, took off the lens cap and focused, I was just in time to…..watch those damn birds fly away and out of sight.  I wanted to cry but I didn’t.  When I arrived home to find my favorite shoes chewed up, well, thats when I lost it.  I had a little pity cry just for me.  Actually a big pity cry.  And loud.  The dogs stayed away.

I’m okay now.

This picture is from Italy–where I’d like to be today instead of here with chewed shoes, dirty dishes and cruel photography gods….

Italy_bldgs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. willow says:

    I am so with you! I look at my photos from England when I have a day like that. I’m so sad for you and your shoes. Seriously. If the neighbor dog chewed my Danskos, we’d have a border war.

  2. victoria says:

    robin is having trouble posting a comment–is anyone else having problems with my comments? if so, email me and let me know….

  3. We know your eagle pictures would have been good. It’s too bad they didn’t cooperate. Sorry to hear about the shoes.

  4. pam says:

    Life is cruel that way. I’m having that kind of day myself.

  5. India says:

    Dogs – dont you just love ’em? This would be another reason for my husband not to have a dog ;0(

    I’m waiting (deperately trying to, anyway) for my next Audible credits so I can listen to the Jonathon Strange & Mr Norrel novel.
    India

  6. Rebecca says:

    I am crying (and laughing too, I am afraid) right with you. Was just reading this out to Marcus who actually got up off his seat to come and see the screen, thinking he was going to get a look at the Bald Eagle! We feel for you.

    I am about to send you that recipe, I think you need something sugary to ease your pain.

  7. leslie says:

    Well, as I am not usually “glass half full” type of gal, I must say I have found the silver lining in this situation. You must now go buy lots of new shoes. Additionally, shoes always fit and look good and trying them on never sends you home in tears. So, it just so happens that in honor of our founding fathers the retailers are having lots, and lots of sales, so, go out and splurge! You deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

