Well, I’ve been a neglectful blogger of late.  I finally got my computer back yesterday but I haven’t been able to steal away time to work on any of my numerous projects.  I’m still knitting away like a madwoman and trying to bake cookies for gifts and keep up with everything else in my life.  There is the definite possibility that Christmas cards will not get sent out this year….I have never missed a year yet but I fear that time is running out and I must prioritize….

December 11  
was my grandfather’s birthday.  He would have been 93 if he were still around.  He died when I was 13 but I can still hear what he sounded like when he’d sing  On The Good Ship Lollipop to me.  He held many jobs in his life including being a cable car grip man,  baker and a hod carrier (I’m still not sure exactly what hod is….).  He was truly and unabashedly in love with my grandma and would bring her breakfast in bed, sing to her, and write her poems.

Buff_papa_1

 

This is what the back of that picture looks like.  Obviously she was crazy about him too….
Lipstick_kisses_1

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Pam says:

    Aww what a hunk! Love the kisses on the back!

  2. lindalprice says:

    That is sooo romantic! Welcome back to blogland.

  3. JulieFrick says:

    Oooh, dreamboat. Glad to hear from you! We’re considering New Year’s cards this year in lieu of Christmas cards. It’s just too crazy right now!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Oh wow, what a fantastic photograph, front and back! Sounds like he was a wonderful guy.

  5. B says:

    I love this post. How incredible to hear what a romantic he was.

  6. callie says:

    I had never heard the term hod carrier until this august. My son got a job as one in Illnois. He carrier cement cinder blocks to the block layers and prepares the mortar for them. I asked him do you know what hod means? He said no, but the pay is good so I really don’t care MOM. He makes $30.00 an hour. I really like your pic on your site. Cool

  7. Susan says:

    What a great story and photos. He was very handsome, and sounds like a great person to boot. But, what really spoke to me were the kisses. That is such a wonderful treasure and speaks more than words ever could.

Leave a Reply

