Bucket_pearI know some of you don’t want to hear this, but Christmas is right around the corner.  Now that the rain has lessened a bit (we got 3.5 inches yesterday), christmas tree production has started.  I passed a few of the big trucks they use to collect the trees on the road today on my way into work.  Soon I’ll be hearing helicopters 24/7 as they pick up bundles of cut trees at the tree farms and ferry them to the waiting trucks.  Its a big business here in Oregon and they usually start cutting the trees the first week of November to get them to places like Hawaii in time for Christmas.  We live down the road from a tree farm and if they’re cutting as we pass we stop the car and watch the helicopter go back and forth, picking up the tree bundles with a hook and then, in a well timed release, drop them into the special truck.  The kids love to watch and so do I–it’s sort of mesmerizing.
It’s a busy week here but I had success with the felted birds and flowers over the weekend so I’ll be posting pictures as soon as I take some.  The felted flowers are a fun and quick knit (kinda addictive to be honest) and they turn out really cute.  I went stash diving and found lots of great colors and scraps and plan on making a bunch for gifts.  They’d also look cute on felted bags and even sewn onto the top of those felted slippers.  Of course I couldn’t help adding some new yarn to my stash  for this project….Its a sickness, I know…
As for the cold,  I did the zicam for two days and, believe it or not, the cold never materialized as anything more than a mild sore throat.  Now Doug has it so hopefully the zicam will work for him too….Thanks for all your well wishes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Liz says:

    Christmas trees by helicopter? Truly, truly astonishing.

  2. Pam says:

    I’m just shuddering at the thought of Christmas. I’m going to pretend I didn’t read it. But can’t wait to see your other items! And love your photos. Very nice. Makes me want a pear right now.

Leave a Reply

