i’ve got the blahhhhhgs

Red_berries_fall

I’m feeling really blah about blogging these days.  Maybe it’s because I’m working 4 days a week and my creating time has dwindled and my knitting is done in fits and starts when I’m waiting to pick up a kid or before I pass out at night. So much of my day is filled with things I have to do–things that are less than inspiring. I feel that any content I could offer is unworthy of you, my dear readers.  Some people have the gift of turning mundane things into something interesting or, better yet, they’re able to create posts that are thought provoking and timely.  Not me.  So, here’s the problem–I’ve got to push through this rough patch until I find my blogging  inspiration again.

I am, at least, still out there taking pictures because the beautiful colors   are lovely.  The leaves on the cherry trees are a lovely golden color and when I sit in my favorite chair and look out the window the room seems to take on a golden light.  I’ve been sitting in my favorite chair more these days because its by the wood burning stove and its finally cold enough to light fires in it.  Yesterday, however, I fought with the wood burning stove and it definitely won.  Riley was home sick and the house was chilly so I thought that I’d start a fire to warm the house up a bit.  It had been a very cold morning with lots of inversion fog and our stove pipe goes up two storeys so there was a lot of cold, dense air in the pipe when I tried to start a fire.  I did have dry kindling but maybe it wasn’t small enough and it didn’t catch right away.  In fact, it didn’t catch at all.  It smouldered.  Smoke began to pour into the house through the stove door, the ash door and the pipe behind the stove.  I opened the stove door to try to add more paper to make it hotter but that just added to the smouldering and more smoke pouring in.  I had Riley open all doors and windows (the house was now filling with smoke) and thought I’d put on a fire glove and remove the offending paper and log by putting them in a metal bucket and taking them outside.  When I opened the door to the stove this time and attempted to reach in, so much smoke billowed out that I was coughing and couldn’t breath and was sure I was damaging my lungs!  I slammed the door shut and waited a few minutes (actually, I ran around opening windows, trying to call Ed–who was not home!  What he would have done, I don’t know, but it just seems like its a good thing to call your dad in these instances) and then was able to light some paper and get the smoke going up the chimney like it was supposed to.  Yeah, that was fun.  Needless, to say, we have an appointment to have the chimney cleaned on Friday and that should help.  I just don’t need that kind of excitement in my life….

Doug should be home soon and he’ll be starting a fire (I’m not going down that alley again….) and we’ll be watching the World Series and having burritos.  Sounds like a good night to me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i’ve got the blahhhhhgs

  1. Rebecca says:

    My parents have an Aga which has to be lit every year a round about this time. It always involved a lot of smoke and fumes and much swearing from my father, ahh the memories….

    I have “what to write” phases too, don’t worry. I always love your photographs though and look forward to seeing what images you have posted. I think your photos are inspiring, you often get me thinking of a new project or way of putting colours together with your beautiful images.

  2. Vicki says:

    I enjoy your pictures quite a lot, too. Your blog wouldn’t suffer a bit by posting photos and short captions or snippets for a while…

  3. suse says:

    Thank you for the link and extremely flattering comment. I am feeling like you … too many days at work, too little knitting time, too little interesting to say, so my blog is quiet also.

    Your photos are always exquisite though, even if you think you don’t have much to say!

Leave a Reply

