Pears_and_red_siding

This knitting only christmas presents thing is soooo sucking because I can’t post any pictures and I can’t really talk about what I’ve been knitting feverishly on or have finished!  Let it be known, though, I’ve been really productive on the knitting front.  Pictures later.

I’m coming down with a cold.  My throat is killing me.  I guess with having 3 members of my household sick the odds were to great to ignore…I hate being sick when its sunny and hot and we are having a big, ol’ heat wave here in Oregon.  I’d really like to cozy up to a fire in my sweats and knit and nap until this cold is gone but it doesn’t look like its going to happen anytime soon….

Lunch_bagAs Cal is travelling to my home town to play the Beavs today, I’ve been preparing my kids for the game by writing their names on their lunch bags with blue and gold sharpies, drawing bear paws, writing Go Bears! and other spirit inducing quotes.  I wrote the first few lines of the old Cal Drinking Song on one (its tame and doesn’t mention drinking until the later lines).  I thought for sure that the older girls would balk at taking their bags to school but they say their friends think its pretty cool that I write on their lunch bags and write such unusual stuff.  Writing on lunch bags is a tradition in our family as our mom did it every morning.  Lunch bag art can be seasonal (Santa, Christmas trees, Easter Bunny, Jack O Lanterns) , personal (good luck on you math test!), or team spirited (Go Bears!  Give ’em the Axe!).  Even my high school senior smiles and proudly takes her lunch in a custom bag.  They’ve even decorated on for me on a morning that I was working but they had no school.  Gotta love traditions….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Pam says:

    LOVE IT. Love decorated bags. My daughter loved the napkins with the writing on it. Sorry to hear you’re not well. Go Bears!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Awww, that is so cute that you write on their lunchbags, I think that must be so nice for them to have a little reminder of something from home during the day, such a lovely idea.

  3. Kate/Massachusetts says:

    That cold you are getting is probably the very nasty one that has been circulating here in the East. I would strongly suggest you get some ColdEze from the grocery or pharmacy. They are lozengers that contain zinc and are very helpful in shortcircuiting the cold virus. Just follow the directions on the back of the package! Also, lots of liquids and a big pot of chicken soup! 🙂 Hope you feel better soon! Kate/Massachusetts

  4. Jeanne says:

    My mother used to draw pictures on my lunch bag, and I loved it. I used to do the same for my kids when they took a lunch…now they just buy so I can’t. Feel better!

  5. Susan says:

    Oh what a neat thing to do. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

