flock you!

Flock_you_goat

I actually got up at 6 am yesterday.  I got my whole family up and we left the house at 7:30.  Why, you might ask, would you do that on a Saturday?  Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival!  I’ll get up early any morning for fiber!  And Cal was playing at 12:30 and OFFF was in Canby which is about an hour and a half away so it was a well timed search and destroy (or plunder) mission.  Str_skeins It was a beautiful day and I made some really lovely purchases and met some great people.  I met Tina, of Blue Moon Fiber Arts, who was nice, nice, nice and answered all my questions about her beautiful Socks That Rock Yarn.  She was so gracious and warm and accessible and I just love her beautiful yarn!  These are, from left to right,    Dutch Canyon, Lucy, and Rose Quartz.  Mediumweight.  As there is a moratorium on knitting for myself at the moment (so that I can finish all Christmas gifts)  I’m going to have to wait to use these lovelies….Crown_mtn_fibre

This beautiful superwash merino roving is  It Takes Two, Baby  from none other than Crown Mountain Farms.  I actually had a very nice conversation with Teyani but didn’t realize it was her until I got home!  I guess I was so excited and befuddled by the fiber fumes that I wasn’t really aware of what I was doing, just that I needed that fiber!  Again, can’t say enough about how friendly she was and really helpful with tips and ideas!  I got home and started spinning this stuff up immediately and I am loving it.  If I can ever get away from my chores today I’m gonna sit myself down and spin some more….

Swell_yarn

And then, as I was making my last lap around the place, I found Angela of A Swell Yarn Shop.  I bought some Blue Faced Leicester roving from her in the most delicious colors!  I’ve decided that BFL is my very favorite thing to spin.  I’m knitting a gift with the BFL I got from Amy at Spunky Eclectic and it is soooo soft and wonderful to knit with!  I really love the colors she uses to dye her fibers with:  muted, soft colors that look so pretty together.  I’m not a big orange, yellow, purple type of person.  In fact I pretty much hate purple all together (I do love lilac and lavender though).   Angela, too, was really sweet and helpful and I’ll be definitely going back to her website to get more!

Wool_wagon_1

Wool_wagon_2

Last, but not least, I saw my friend Linda and her fiber partner Lois, of Bellwether Wool and their "wool wagon"!  They’ve converted an airporter van into a a mobile fiber hut on wheels!  I was cracking up but what a great idea!  My pictures don’t do it justice.  It was all set up beautifully with their yummy fiber and yarn…

And then, as if the day couldn’t get any better, Cal actually had a fantastic day and beat Arizona State.  I don’t usually gloat, but there I do love to watch Cal Football.  Brings back such good memories (except when I was there they weren’t winning so much…..Doug doesn’t like to be reminded of that….)

Fiber and Football–two of my favorite things.  Can’t get much better than that.  Now, if we could just win the 203 million lottery with the ticket we bought yesterday……..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to flock you!

  1. Pam says:

    That all looks lovely. I have always wanted to know how to spin. Love all the yarn etc. Looks like you had a great day!

  2. Rebecca says:

    So any news on the lottery yet???

    This is such a great post, a visual feast, I am living vicariously through your photos, the colours look great, I wish I could stroke those yarns. Thanks for the feast.

  3. Teyani says:

    great photos!! and I totally agree that Linda and Lois’ fiber-van was a hoot – what a great idea.
    It was good to meet you, and I’m glad that you’re enjoying the It takes Two Baby

  4. Mokihana says:

    I’ve been going to OFFF since its very first year. Back then, it barely took up the main building and in the barn was one llama and a couple of sheep. We ended up buying the llama! It’s hard to believe how tiny it was back then. Every year it just keeps getting bigger and bigger. For me, it’s a fiber junkie’s paradise as well as a place where I can catch up with old friends and be surprised by seeing those I haven’t seen in years. It’s one of the highlights of my whole year!

Leave a Reply

