rainy days and thursdays

We’re finally getting some rain and cooler weather here and I think we’ve seen the last of the summer-like temperatures.  This will be a welcome change!  As today is a day off, I’m sitting here with a cup of hot cider and enjoying the quiet of my house.  Even the sound of the washer and dryer in the laundry room is a nice one.  You definitely appreciate your days off when you work outside of the home!

There are pears and tomatoes to be picked and sauces to be made but I think I’ll wait until I have some help here to cart the heavy buckets around.  (I don’t consider Quackers any help, though he does follow around closely and quacks his support constantly!)

Apples_croppedblog_1 I’m making my list for knitted christmas gifts and I realize that I better get started!  I’ve perused the stash and have found little that will fit my needs so now I’m trying to narrow down exactly what I want to make and buy only what I need.  Yeah, we all know thats going to work….

The change in our household now that both Doug and I are working has been huge.  We have had to create an area off the barn for our dogs so that they can be outside when they want and also have protection from rain and cold and a nice place to sleep.  We still manage to sit down for dinner together every night and that is the only time all 5 of us are in the same place at the same time.  Weekends are spent working furiously on things that we can’t accomplish during the week.  The kids are spending more time with their aunt, uncle,  grandparents and cousins because they’re getting picked up from school by someone other than mom and dad.  My days are busy but spent catching glances at clocks and worrying.   Worrying that the kids are having a good day.  Worrying that the dogs are warm enough or cool enough or have spilled their water bucket or gotten out of their fenced area and are roaming around the wilderness that we live next too waiting to be eaten by coyotes.  And in the evening, I’m holding court in my bedroom, knitting or folding clothes or reading a magazine, and talking with usually one kid at a time and working through their fears, insecurities, problems of the day.  I’m exhausted.  I know it will even itself out and I’m still in a happy and okay place.  But right now, I’d love to be able to turn my brain off.   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to rainy days and thursdays

  1. Pam says:

    Lovely apple photo. Good luck with the knitting and the talking and the working things out.

  2. Vicki says:

    Let me know if you find that switch for shutting off the brain, eh? Wouldn’t that be nice for a couple of hours? ; )

    You should eventually find a rhythm — I hope soon.

  3. robin says:

    as crazy as life is..and as much as i love san francisco..there is something about canning, knitting, shearing sheep, the mountains, the buckets of apples, ripe tomatoes and pears that take me another place..with different colors, smells and experiences. i get to have that sense of adventure through you and your incredible photos. and in the silence of the moment..i can breath in the fresh air..count my blessings for having the best of both worlds. thank you.

  4. robin says:

    sorry…..breathe is not breath. 🙂
    in the last post. 🙂

    breathe in the fresh air…..

Leave a Reply

