quackers the tomato eater

I realized thatQuack_1  I haven’t talked about Quackers the duck in an awfully long time.  I’m sure you’ve all been wondering what he’s up to.  I’ll bet you’ve been staying up at night with worry.  Well, have no fear, Quackers is alive and well.  We had a couple of minor incidents where someone left Angus out in the yard unsupervised for too long and apparently his retrieving instincts came out in full force.  Quackers is about 15 pounds and probably not so easy to pick up by the neck and carry around as our large labrador obviously did.  Hence, a bloody and slobbery neck on the duck.  We’re being more careful now about Angus’ trips out into the big yard….As you know, Quackers loves to eat (particularly cat food) and he has been hanging around the tomato plants I have in the raised beds in front of the cottage but can’t help himself to any of the the tomatoes because of his rounded bill.  The other day I saw him trying to eat one and felt sorry for him (how stupid am I??!!!!) so I picked a tomato, broke it in half and held it out for him.  Well, shit, this duck went  crazy gobbling down that thing and grabbed it from my hand and shook his head violently as he was eating it.  The annoying side note to this is that if you don’t hand the duck his tomato and run, he flails it around spraying tomato juice and seeds all over and I can’t tell you how many pairs of pants I’ve had to take straight into the house and wash so that they don’t stain!Quack_2_1  And now, my fulfilling task of picking yummy, warm tomatoes off our vines has taken on a whole different tone.  Now I have to put all the tomatoes in a basket and keep it higher than Quacker’s head so he can’t lean in and poke at them, I have to rip open tomatoes and hand them to him and run like crazy so he can’t  1. spray tomato all over me and 2. if he’s done eating his tomato, peck at my toenails which are painted red!  Can’t you just picture me running around my raised beds picking frantically while being chased by a big ass duck?  Sounds like a fun experience doesnt it?   The best part?  I read today and coveted some cows…..I don’t think I’ll ever learn my lesson….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to quackers the tomato eater

  1. Rebecca says:

    So sorry but I am creased with laughter, Quackers is such a character. Go on, get him a cow for company.

  2. Liz says:

    Not only do you have an incredibly talented woodworking husband (that hutch!), but you have a giant white duck that eats tomatoes? We could be living parallel lives (goats here in a couple years) except for the fact that your photographs are much more stunning.

    ps. My ducks adore green beans and will chase me to the ends of the earth for a handout.

  3. Susanne says:

    OMG I should have put a “splutter alert” on this post! I am killing myself laughing, (sorry about your pants) but that is really funny!! 🙂

  4. Pam says:

    That’s hilarious.

  5. Susan says:

    OMG I laughed until tears ran down my cheeks. What a great story and what an incredible duck. Tomatoes, indeed. And weren’t you so nice to be the one that introduced said duck to the taste of ripe tomatoes! I’m still laughing!

  6. Di says:

    ROFL that was hilarious! I can just picture you tossing him his tomato and running like hell!

  7. JulieFrick says:

    This is so funny! However, I was somewhat skeeved by the bloody, slobbery neck. Poor Quackers!

Leave a Reply

