the truth is revealed….

Applebasket_1 In the "I never would have believed this is my life catagory":  Our dinnertable discussion this Sunday evening was about how the coaches of my husbands football team (he coaches a local high school football team) where pissed off that their saturday scrimmage had to end so as to begin the "cow drop".  For those of you who have never heard of a "cow drop" (until two years ago I was included in that catagory), it is a fund raising event where people sell of grids on the football field before a game.  Then, at half time or whatever, a cow is brought in to wander around the field.  The winner of a prize (in this case $1000) is the one who correctly predicted where the cow would crap.  Yes, you heard me right.  And apparently, yesterday it went on for awhile as the cow really liked munching on the turf but wasn’t in need of lightening her load for a long time….

The next order of business is the quiz that I threw down on Friday.  The lie is that I’ve never climbed Mt. Hood.  My father was an electrician on the Golden Gate Bridge when I was in high school so, yes, I have been to the top of the towers.  There is a very small, old and rickety elevator inside the tower that you take to almost the top and then you climb some scary ass ladders and up through a hatch and you’re up on the top.  Its really windy and sways way more than you think it would but a totally awesome view!  As for shaking hands with Tricky Dick, Cara, you are sooooo smart!  You are right! I was living in NJ when he was still alive and he was a HUGE Giants fan.  He was friends with certain people who would give him tickets to sit in the Wives section and I happened to have the seat behind him.  My friend Susie Bavaro had met him before and introduced us.  Amazingly enough, he was very nice and friendly and knew all kinds of stats and info about my husband.  It was really weird but he was just like any nice, old, Giants fan.  So there you have it.

Today I picked tomatoes and made that fantastic roasted tomato sauce which we had with crusty bread and rigatoni.  I’ll be freezing the rest of it because it is sooooo good in the fall and winter.  I think it would also be good  just on toasted sourdough slices for a light dinner or an appetizer. 

OpalpetticoatsockI finished one sock.  Here it is in all its really cool patterny goodness.  Its Opal Petticoat #1295 and I think I’ll be getting more of this stuff for Christmas presents! I’ve already cast on the second one and I’m really excited to have them done.  It’s too bad I’m not a Birkenstock wearer because these socks deserve to be seen.

I can tell we’re getting close to Fall:  the first Cal football game will be on next weekend (Go Bears) and Apples!  Our pears are also getting ready (for somePears_1 reason this has been a banner year for apples and pears) and our pear tree is growning with the weight of them.  I dug out the apple peeler thingy and made two huge pots  of applesauce .  My family likes it chunky with a little bit of sugar and lots of cinnamon.  I like it with pears in it too but the pears aren’t ripe enough yet.  Maybe in a few weeks.  In the meantime we have enough applesauce for the next few days and some to put in the freezer for later.  Unfortunately we are out of vanilla ice cream because warm home-made applesauce onvanilla ice cream is heavenly…Maybe tomorrow night…

Applepeeler Thanks to those of you who have read this far and have put up with this totally disjointed post.  What can I say?  Its Sunday night, I’ve had a mike-arita, a yummy dinner and now I’m just stupid and need to knit….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the truth is revealed….

  1. Cara says:

    I was totally figuring Super Bowl. 😉

    DUDE. That GGB story is super scary. NUTS!

  2. Chelle says:

    Your sock is adorable. I love it.

  3. leslie says:

    So, I do really know you. While I had not heard the Tricky Dick story you just can’t slip one past me……and thank goodness, I can’t ever slip one past you, which is exactly why I have been able to cling to some form of sanity all these years!
    xoxoxo

  4. Vicki says:

    I have made three batches (and counting) of tomato sauce using your recipe, Vicki, and each one is better than the last. We had it again last night (the second batch went straight to the freezer). My eldest said, “Again? Why are you making so much?” and all I could say to her was that winter was coming… Tasting the freshness of that sauce in February will be right up there on the same level as pulling a forgotten set of line-dried sheets or a nightgown out in February and “smelling summer.” Thanks again for posting that great recipe.

  5. Suse says:

    I just LOVE that sock!

    I too am totally addicted to sock knitting.

  6. blackbird says:

    Your pictures are so lovely!

Leave a Reply

