catching up

I attempted to post yesterday and had quite a rambling going but when I hit the save button all was lost!  Typepad usually doesn’t do that but I guess yesterday was the exception….(I hope!)

Thanks to all for the well wishes for my back!  Its back to its usual stressed out self and no more lower back pain.  Now my excuse to lie in bed and knit all day is gone…damn!

On the goat fleece front,  here is a picture of a small amount of the lustrous stuff.Pygorafleece   I have yet to wash it all and am doing so in small amounts because I don’t have room to dry tons of it all at one time (it is currently occupying my bathtub on a towel).  Next comes the carding which I have never done before.  Linda showed me how and kindlly lent me her hand carders so I’m going to try to blend the pygora with some cormo and see what I get.  I’m just nervous that when I spin it the prickly hairs will stick out and instead of getting some unbelievably soft yarn I’ll get something scratchy and unwearable…I think working in small amounts is good, that way if I screw something up its not a big deal.

On the knitting progress:  I’m still plugging along on the sweater (barely) and started a new pair of socks.  I am soooo loving this pattern!Petticoatsocks   They’re knitting up really fast because I cast on 56 with Addi’ 1’s this time.  It’s a bit of a gamble, really, because 56 doesn’t seem like much but every time I cast on 64 the socks are too big!  I always think they’ll shrink in the wash but they never really do so I’m hoping this solves the problem and I find my perfect sock size.  This, however, does not solve the need for a toe tatt…..I do love knitting socks and it is hard for me to go back to knitting things that take more time.  I think I must push past that…

And, I’m not sure if its favorite corners of your house day or whatever but I like this corner of my house (no huge balls of dog fur here…)Doughutch Doug made this for me about 10 years ago from a picture that I found in a magazine.  I’ve got my favorite bowl collection in it right now and some apples and pears off of our trees on some great dishes from Anthropologie that my sister Ali bought for me.  I am truly into ocean colors these days:  turquoise, aqua, soft blue.  And pink.  Lots of pink.

Well, off to run some errands.  Get that out of the way so that I can spin and play in the cottage for the rest of the day….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to catching up

  1. willow says:

    When I dry large sheep fleeces I take two saw horses and hang a twin fitted sheet on them and lay the wet fleece on the sheet. If you have a garage or deck you can stretch the sheet/horses out there.

    The goat fleece looks wonderful. Even after you spin the fibers, you can pull out the coarse hairs if there are not too many.

    Happy spinning and knitting. No time here at my house–wedding planning, moving, and lesson planning are overpowering.

  2. Susan says:

    oh the fleece looks wonderful. I’m excited to follow this adventure.

    and wow, Doug’s quite the woodworker. Lucky you!

  3. Susan says:

    Heck, I forgot the sock. What yarn is that? The colors are wonderful

  4. Jeanne says:

    The sock looks great – love the colors. What yarn is that? I really love the shelves – beautiful!

  5. Leslie says:

    I can’t take my eyes off of your sock….must buy some…where….??

  6. Sarah says:

    Same question – what is that sock yarn??!?! And your house is so beautiful – every time you post pics they look like a home magazine.

  7. Sandy says:

    I love your bowl collection & ocean colors as well. Very calming colors. This is my first time here so I’ll have to look arond some more!

Leave a Reply

