yarn and treasure

Foxglove1drybrshQuick post before I head out to the barn to treadmill and then off to work.

One of my lovely presents for my birthday was a gift certificate for my LYS.  I could not let that thing sit in my bag for even a week and headed in there Saturday with my friend Valerie who I’m teaching to knit (starting an addiction would be a better term, wouldn’t it?).  6, count them, 6 balls of sock yarn later I emerged eager to finish off my other projects and get started on some socks for me.  Well, we’re getting there…

On the way to said yarn store, I saw a garage sale out of the corner of my eye and swerved my car over there and was so glad I did!  I found some great stuff which I can not picture because some of them will be birthday presents.  And some I’m not so sure I want to give away.  I call that unclean thoughts:  when you buy something intending it for someone else and then like it so much you want to keep it.  I keep waffling back and forth…And I got some more wooden picnic baskets to paint to use as storage in my cottage–perfect for fabric scraps, excess ruffles or whole projects.  All in all, very good garage sale.   You should have seen me grabbing these things quick and then having to stand in one place next to my large pile and still trying to scope out what was on the table…I become obsessed.

It’ll be a long week for me and posts might be spotty…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to yarn and treasure

  1. willlow says:

    Wow, are those hollyhocks?! BTW, Happy Birthday belated; I was oot.

  2. Suse says:

    Um Willow, I think they are foxgloves. They’re beautiful, whatever they are.

    Sounds like you had a great outing – wool and garage sale finds! Woohoo!

    And happy anniversary for the other day.

  3. willow says:

    Yup, they’re foxgloves. I must have hollyhocks on my brain right now because Friday we went to Frank Lloyd Wright’s Hollyhock House in Hollywood for a tour and the owner’s favorite flower was a hollyhock and they were everywhere, everywhere outside and stylized on the inside.

  4. meg says:

    I want to know more about the 6 balls of sock yarn??!! What kind? what colors? What Patterns?

  5. meg says:

    I have only knit with Opal once before and it was early on in my knitting “career”….I don’t have LYS that carry Opal so I just ordered online the Petticoat color 1290…really pretty pastels! If you have any tried and true Opal sock pattern favorites..let me know!

Leave a Reply

