craziness here

If you thought my blogging has been sporadic (read: non-existent) in the last few days, well, its only going to get worse…It’s  t minus 14 hours until the arrival of Patti, friend from Cali and I’ve still got lots to do.  Add to that a dog that, for the last 2 days has been throwing up every meal exactly 5 minutes after he eats it and you can see what I’m up against.  Angus seems happy and normal — he’s just barfing everything up.  Vet says (after xrays) it might be just an irritated stomach.  If he doesn’t stop throwing up even on his bland diet (boiled chicken and rice) then he has to go in for another set of xrays and if they find an obstruction we’re looking at surgery to remove it.  Yep. When it rains it pours.  I’m trying to remain calm and not get really anxious because there’s nothing I can do but after living with a dog with diabetes and leukemia I can tell you my nerves are fried and I need a break from the pet gods….(so does my wallet). 

So.  I leave you for a little while with pictures of the patched up and newly painted guest room.Guestroom1

I’m happy with how it came out–it’s amazing what a coat of paint can do!

Guestroom2  Right outside the windows are two old honeysuckle bushes.  When the morning sun hits them they smell heavenly.  Also outside the window are wild cherry trees so there are birds flitting around and chirping all morning.  Hell, I wouldn’t mind staying in this room!

Guestroom3 This was a vintage sheet I bought years ago when we had our cabin and would make trips to Sonora Ca. were there was the cutest vintage furnishings shop called Tarflats Antiques.  I’ve been waiting for the right place to use it and I think I found it.

Well, I don’t know how much I’ll be able to post in the next few days but I’m sure I’ll have lots of pictures and news of the Black Sheep Gathering in Eugene.  And hopefully no dog surgery stories…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to craziness here

  1. Poor Angus! I really hope that he is okay. I know you’ve been through a lot with Elmer and that must make you feel so uneasy. I’m sorry to hear that.

    The guestroom looks so lovely! I remember my first stay in your cottage…it’s no wonder I stayed for a year, is it?! I hope you and Patti have a wonderful time together. I look forward to hearing about the Black Sheep Gathering!

  2. willow says:

    Black Sheep Gathering! I’m going to be in Portland starting Friday for 1+ weeks for a wedding…hmmm, maybe I’ll try to convince someone to drive down to Eugene…

  3. Susan says:

    What a lovely room! It’s so very welcoming.
    Lots of feeling-better hugs for Angus and lots for you too! Have a great time with your friend!

  4. Susan says:

    What a lovely room! It’s so very welcoming.
    Lots of feeling-better hugs for Angus and lots for you too! Have a great time with your friend!

  5. Di says:

    What a pretty room, it’s very inviting, like a bed & breakfast…

    I really hope Angus will be OK! And I hope that you and your friend have a nice visit!

  6. carra says:

    I would swim across Atlantic walk across the states to stay in that room for one night, that is how much I love it! It is trully beautiful! And yes very welcoming!
    I hope that Angus will be OK, my boxer dog Charlie had the same problem but after a plain rice diet it stopped. I really do hope for you and Angus there is nothing serious to worry about.
    Have a good time with your friend!

  7. Anna F. says:

    Gorgeous room! I feel well-rested just looking at the pictures. Hope your pooch feels better soon.

  8. Jill says:

    That room is just beautiful! I hope your dog is feeling better soon.

  9. Rebecca says:

    Oh the room is gorgeous, your friend will feel like a queen in there, I think if it was me you would have trouble getting rid of me.

    So sorry to hear about your dog, keeping my fingers crossed it is just down to something disgusting he ate. Our two dogs are getting on a little now and I am just dreading anything happening to them, I know how much dogs become part of the family.

  10. Rebecca says:

    Oh the room is gorgeous, your friend will feel like a queen in there, I think if it was me you would have trouble getting rid of me.

    So sorry to hear about your dog, keeping my fingers crossed it is just down to something disgusting he ate. Our two dogs are getting on a little now and I am just dreading anything happening to them, I know how much dogs become part of the family.

  11. I stumbled across your blog while I was doing some online research. I had a dog with a similar problem who was finally diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome from food allergies; the problem cleared up once he went on a hypoallergenic prescription diet.

Leave a Reply

