Happy Birthday Rubydoo!

Today is my first baby’s birthday!  17 years old! Dang!Rubycollageflat

She wasn’t supposed to come until July 4th (my birthday) but she decided to arrive early.  And thank goodness for that!  The hottest day so far that year (we were in New Jersey) with 90% humidity!  I was so swollen and uncomfortable!  I had to go to the hospital that day for testing and I was swearing at Doug every step of the way.  I’m not kidding–swearing my head off!  It took forever to take that test (you know, how many times the baby kicks per hour….) and the nurse asked about my contractions.  I said I wasn’t having any, unhook me and let me get home and, as Ruby was breech and an automatic C-section, she said we had to let a doctor look at me before I could go home.  Well, I was in labor and was immediately wheeled into the labor room where Miss Ruby was born an hour later.  Okay, enough baby stories–you just have to remind them every year what you endured for their sake.  Upon hearing that story, Ruby always says, "I didn’t ask to be born…"  Not exactly the response I’m looking for….Love her anyway.

PS:  You bloggers are the nicest people I know!  I love your comments and your openness and I feel so good when I read them that it makes me want to go to other peoples blogs and be kind to them.  Love the blogging karma….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Birthday Rubydoo!

  1. Vicki says:

    Happy Birthday!!

    (I love baby stories — thanks!)

  2. Cara says:

    Happy Birthday Ruby!

  3. Cara says:

    Happy Birthday Ruby!

  4. willow says:

    When my dd is feeling expansive toward me she’ll comment that she owes me life and breath (to say nothing of ALL those hours of pain and labor!). Happy Birthday Ruby!

  5. willow says:

    When my dd is feeling expansive toward me she’ll comment that she owes me life and breath (to say nothing of ALL those hours of pain and labor!). Happy Birthday Ruby!

  6. Bernadette says:

    Happy Birthday Ruby! What a wonderful daughter you raised. Thanks for bringing her into this world to share with all of us! 🙂 Looking forward to the festivities tonight!

  7. Henry says:

    ruby one of my favorite sister other then riley.

Leave a Reply

