put down that coffee…

Wristwarmers  I guess I’m getting an early start to my day as it is 4 am and I’ve been up since 2:30.  I seem to be having some sinus issues and, as I am a woman possessed lately, I might as well use this time to my advantage.  Where we live in Oregon, they proudly proclaim to be the grass seed capital of the world.  It is very likely that if you have grass, some of your lawn seed came from here.  I know that fact is mildly interesting at best, but for anyone who has even the mildest allergies, this time of year can be a pain (in the sinus). 

Like I said, I’ve been a crazy woman these days, getting lots of crap done.  Finished my wrist warmers and am really happy with them.  Painting and spackling the guest room (formerly my work room until the big move to the cottage of dreams….) because MY FRIEND PATTI IS COMING TO VISIT!!!  Yes that deserves caps.  I love it when friends come to visit and Patti especially.  We take pictures, knit, be nerds on the computer with Photoshop and Painter…(one time we were actually fighting over cursor control on my computer:  I had the mouse and she had the graphics tablet!  Nerds!)  This year we’re going to the Black Sheep Gathering in Eugene to check out fibers for spinning and maybe some yarn too.  I’m so excited!  So anyway, said guestroom needs to be spruced up and I’m just the woman to do it. 

So, its a busy week:  guestroom, kids last days at school, Ruby’s 17th birthday, Father’s Day and pre-Patti preparation….And get in 4 walks with Angus and coffee with friends and bathing suit shopping for middle child.  Yep, I’m gonna need lots of caffeine…(and naps).  TeachergiftsGot the teachers gifts done at least–cross that one of the list!

And the next best thing to a great friend coming to visit?  Mail!  Yesterday was a banner day:  Rebecca sent me aRowan pattern mini mag with a lace shawl that I wanted to try.  She also included a sample of the yarn she used to inspire me.  Thank you , thank you!  Middle daughter was drooling over some of the patterns in there too….And then, also in my mailbox, was my british Country Living magazine–my favorite because I love the photography–they pay way more attention to detail than the American magazines (what’s with Country Living’s covers?  It looks like they need a new photo editor or creative director or something!  Can you say uninspired?)  Anyway, it was fun getting the mail yesterday…I guess it’s just the little things in life….

I was inspired by Rebecca’s description of Eton Mess (I’d never heard of it before) so I made some meringues and I hope they last long enough to be turned into dessert.  It sounded so good and I even bought strawberries and whipping cream (I like to whip it up with sugar and Chambord).

Okay, I know I sound manic and you are all probably saying I should cut out the caffeine, take a Valium or pull the plug or something.  I’m really not–I’m just….focused.  Yeah, that’s the ticket…(remember Jon Lovitz on saturday night live?)  I have to do all I can because we all know what happens to people with Seasonal Affective Disorder come October….I become a knitting zombie….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to put down that coffee…

  1. Kimberly says:

    Love your blog-you are so real!
    I also love your pink wrist warmers. Have fun with Patti, I love it when my geeky knitty friends come to visit and we get down and dirty. ;o)

  2. suse says:

    Good grief I am in love with those wrist warmers. And they are EXACTlY what I need … as I sit here at the computer my right (mouse) hand freezes! Would you share the pattern?

    (PS. I adore your blog. I think I’ve said that before but I can’t help it).

  3. suse says:

    Good grief I am in love with those wrist warmers. And they are EXACTlY what I need … as I sit here at the computer my right (mouse) hand freezes! Would you share the pattern?

    (PS. I adore your blog. I think I’ve said that before but I can’t help it).

  4. kathryn says:

    just found your blog
    the wristwarmers are
    beautiful
    look forward to hearing about friend
    adventures-
    and what is patti knitting

  5. kathryn says:

    just found your blog
    the wristwarmers are
    beautiful
    look forward to hearing about friend
    adventures-
    and what is patti knitting

  6. katie says:

    eton mess – yummmmmmy! what is in the tins? are they washed out cat food tins? they look great! lucky teachers! Nice blog x

  7. katie says:

    eton mess – yummmmmmy! what is in the tins? are they washed out cat food tins? they look great! lucky teachers! Nice blog x

Leave a Reply

