summer? are you there?

I was amazed last night while climbing into bed at 10 pm to look out my window and still be able to see the outline of the hills and Marys Peak–the sun had not completely set yet!  The sky was not dark but still a little orangey/purpley/dark blue!  The reason I’m amazed is that I feel like we skipped Spring this year here in the Northwest.  We had those 2 weeks of blazing heat and then we went back to rain and heavy cloud cover.  And yet, we must be nearing summer if the sun is staying up so late….My sister is starting to worry if they’ll ever be able to swim in their pool when its finished.  As long as she’s got the heater on, I’m there!

Tonight I get to go spin at a spinning group with my new friend Linda.  I am excited because I can use all the help I can get!  I dyed my perendale yarn yesterday using teeny amounts of vermStrawberryyarnillion from Jacquard and it turned out just like I wanted it–a variegated, light shade of pink.  It reminds me of strawberry Haagen-Dazs ice cream.  I am think I am going to attempt to make a pair of wristwarmers out of it because I get cold at night when I knit with the window open above my bed (don’t even ask why I don’t just close my window.  All I can say is perimenopause.  Nuff said.)  As you can see I still have the thick and thin thing going on but not quite as thick nor quite as thin as before.  I guess thats progress but I still could use some guidance…. Strawberryyarnclsup_1I do like what I’m producing but I’m not sure what kind of sock would emerge from the thick and thin yarn.  Maybe I should leave sock yarn to the experts and satisfy myself with homespun/knitted hats, scarves, mittens and sweaters.  Its a thought.

Other than that, things are just the same here.  We’re all looking forward to the end of school, the completion of Ali’s pool and the visit of my sister and her family from California.  They’re coming in July, during the birthday onslaught.  Summer is a big birthday season for us as we have 2 birthday’s in June, 2 in August and 6 in July (mine’s the 4th–I get fireworks!)  So for those of us who like to make compilation, handmade gifts, it pays to start early.  Guess what I’m doing this weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to summer? are you there?

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh that yarn look scumptious, definitely strawberry icecream.

    We seemed to skip spring over here too, it is really hot now and I have the cheek to be complaining about the lack of rain, I’ve had to get the hose out to water the garden (I hasten to add, should any water police be reading, that the hosepipe ban has not hit this especially wet corner of the UK yet, but still I try my best not to hose unless absolutely necessary and my vegetable patch said it was absolutely necessary, in weak wilted little voices).

Leave a Reply

