wasn’t i the young hot chick in the red convertible?

Ruby_on_trike I had a weird moment today.   I was driving along with my middle child , Riley, and she asked what we were going to do with Ruby’s room when Ruby leaves.  Ruby is my oldest daughter, soon to be 17 and soon to be in her last year of high school.  I told Riley that we would just leave it because she’ll be back to visit for a long time.  Then I started to cry.  Hypothetically I know that Ruby will go off to college and then on to the rest of her life.  I just never really knew it in my heart.  I know it has to happen with all of them but I don’t really know it.

This is what I think of when I think of Ruby driving.

And this

Ruby_and_zoe_jeep That’s her waving on her Jeep Power Wheels  with her cousin.  Her favorite ride at Disneyland was Autopia.  She couldn’t wait to get in those cars and be "a crazy driver".  She’d drive so erratically that whoever was in the car with her (she couldn’t reach the pedals) would get thrown all over and try to hold onto her so that she didn’t hit her head on something.  All the while the adult was laughing hysterically and Ruby was screeching about what a "crazy driver"  she was.  Speaking in a New Jersey accent I might add (we lived in New Jersey her first 7 years).

This is my Ruby driving reality:

Rubyandcarweb

Still a red vehicle but that’s about the only similarity.  At least I have a year to get used to this leaving home thing….

So, on a more upbeat thread–I’ve finished the front of the Knitting Pure & Simple hoodie.  Yea!  Now onto the back…the real problem for me is the sleeves-I hate doing sleeves.  I don’t know why because they’re fast its just boring for me…I must perservere…..

Bought tomato plants today:  Early Girl, Willamette and Roma.  No basil plants in the store yet but I’m looking.  That’s all I’m doing this year:  tomatoes and basil.  I have this FANTASTIC (and easy) recipe for pasta sauce in which you throw all these fresh tomatoes and herbs into a roasting pan and roast them and it comes out so fresh tasting and juicy…I’ll have to post the recipe this summer when its tomato season.  Can’t wait!  And homemade pesto–the best!  And jam!  I always get so excited for those things when it isn’t the season and then when its summer and everything is ripe and its urgent because if you don’t cook, bake, jar it, it will go bad and I get manic and overwhelmed.  I love looking at a full pantry, though.  Peach jam, yum….

I love Spring the best–so much promise….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

